YES! A BASES-LOADED TRIPLE!

Bases loaded triples … I LOVE YA!

Thursday’s White Sox winner was a redemptive one of sorts for the @SoxNerd.

Over the years, there are certain stats, events or oddities I obsessively love to log.

These lists are born out of an incredibly specific event that happens in a Sox game which prompts me to ask: Has this ever happened before? When was the last time this happened? How often does this happen?

My goal is to go as far back on the White Sox timeline as possible.

Sitting on my thumb drive I keep on my person at all times (except for those occasions it has been “cleansed” in the wash) are (among others) Sox manifestos on one-out saves, walkoffs, first Sox hit a homer, 1-0 wins and bases-loaded triples.

Thursday, Carlos Sanchez added to the list of bases loaded triples. Ed Farmer tried cut in half my exuberance of a go-ahead hit AND a bases-loaded triple by immediately referring to it as a double but that talk quickly and thankfully dissipated.

The Sox kinda owed me one here.

On June 19, the Sox were poised to give me a @SoxNerd bonanza: A homer-only 1-0 victory.

Not only was that laid out in front of me, there were all kinds of ways that game could go: Most strikeouts in a homer-only 1-0 win, Sox home run leaders in 1-0 wins (that would have been No. 2 for Tyler Flowers), saves in a 1-0 homer-only win and so on and so on.

I COULD TWEET FOR HOURS!

I even had the Tweet ready to go: “That was the 252nd 1-0 win in @whitesox history … 27th HR only 1-0 win in team history.”

I constructed that at the start of the ninth. What could go wrong, right?

Seven batters later, that Tweet was a piece of garbage. David Robertson gave up two runs in the ninth, blowing the save, blowing Chris Sale’s gem and blowing a homer-only 1-0 victory as Texas prevailed 2-1 at U.S. Cellular Field.

Thursday, Sanchez and his .160ish average delivered a bases-loaded triple … in extra innings … in Detroit … as a rookie … batting ninth … as a second baseman!

The laser beam through the Tiger infield and past a sprawling Miguel Cabrera sent me scrambling for my thumb drive and putting me on a Tweeting flurry that referenced Ferris Fain, Carlos Quentin, Lance Johnson, Conor Gillaspie, Marcus Semien, Jose Abreu, Dayan Viciedo, Brent Lillibridge, Magglio Ordonez, Kenny Lofton, Liu Rodriguez, Ray Durham, Joey Cora, Steve Sax and Nellie Fox.

I could breathe again!

Leave a Reply

