FRIDAY FLASHBACK: A PERFECT SCORESHEET 

With the White Sox revealing they will retire Mark Buehrle’s 56 on June 24, I thought I’d celebrate Flashback Friday by digging out my scoresheet from the lefty’s perfect game.

I worked the “perfecto” on July 23, 2009 as part of the White Sox scoreboard crew at U.S. Cellular Field.

I score each game in my role as font coordinator. I rarely, though, keep my card. This day, after the 5-0 win over Tampa Bayb on that Thursday afternoon, I carefully folded the sheet in half and brought it home.

Notice I didn’t even record the final out because pandemonium had consumed the Park.

The demands of the job prevent me from being detailed but on this perfect day not much detail was needed!

Leave a Reply

