31 days to Opening Day, White Sox fans!

There have been 31 official no-hitters in White Sox history (18 for the Sox and 13 against the Sox).

Some Sox no-hit nuggets:

*Mark Buehrle (April 18, 2007 and July 23, 2009) and Frank Smith (Sept. 20, 1902 and Sept. 6, 1905) are the only pitchers in Sox history with two no-hitters

*Charlie Robertson (April 30, 1922), Buehrle (2009) and Philip Humber (April 21, 2012) have fashioned perfect games for the Sox

*Humber’s gem at Seattle was the Sox last no-hitter

*Minnesota’s Francisco Liriano owns the last no-hitter vs. the Sox (May 3, 2011 at U.S. Cellular Field)

*Ed Walsh and Ted Lyons are Hall of Famers who have pitched no-hitters for the Sox 

*Wilson Alvarez (Aug. 11, 1991) is the only Sox rookie to twirl a no-hitter

*Cleveland’s Bob Feller victimized the Sox with MLB’s only Opening Day no-hitter on April 16, 1940 at Comiskey Park

*Joe Cowley’s no-hitter for the Sox on Sept. 19, 1986 at Anaheim was the last win of his career

*Walsh (Aug. 27, 1911) threw the first no-hitter at Comiskey Park while Detroit’s Jack Morris (April 7, 1984) fired Comiskey’s last no-no … I was at one of those!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s